What's New at the Detachment...

Newly elected Officers for 2019 are Pete Killie, Commandant; Dan Harris, Senior Vice Commandant, Sean McNeill, Junior Vice Commandant; and (by a separate election per our bylaws) Dick Tiani, Judge Advocate.

Staff Officers named  by Commandant Killie are Charles Blanchard, Paymaster;  Henry Norley, Buildings and Grounds Officer; Sean McNeill, Adjutant; Steve Kerekes, Sgt at Arms; John Esposito, Chaplain; and Dick Truitt, PIO and Webmaster.

Gunnery Sergeant Douglas F. Ortiz, Jr. a member of the Ridgefield Detachment, has been awarded the Bronze Star for heroism and meritorious achievement in combat during his service in Iraq.  Gy. Sgt. Ortiz now serves with Marine Intelligence at Camp Lejeune, NC.  He is the son of Douglas Ortiz, Sr., also a member and former vice commandant of the Detachment.

The detachment won its eighth Americanism Award from the Department of CT (state MCL) for excellence in community activities and patriotic programs.

This year's winner of the Col. Richard E. Romine Leadership Award is Emma Brody, a senior at Ridgefield High School, who plans to attend James Madison  University.   Emma hopes to become an elementary or Special Education teacher.